New IMail Server Software is Online    (updated 02/04/2010)

Quick Links.

·        Overview

·        List of Email Administrators

·        New Web Messaging Interface

·        Spam Filtering

·        How to find a missing message

·        How to report a junk message that gets through to your Inbox (UPDATED)

·        How to report a false positive

·        White Listing

·        How to set up your home computer or laptop

Overview.

A new version of the Ipswitch Imail Server software was installed on November 26, 2009.  If you use Outlook, Outlook Express, Eudora, Entourage, Netscape Mail or any other client based e-mail software you will not see any significant difference in the operation of the e-mail service and will not need to make any changes in your e-mail setup or usage.

The main differences in the new server software are in the areas of web messaging (or web mail) and spam (junk mail) filtering.  Also, a new configuration option is available to allow connection from your home computer or laptop when connecting with ISPs such as AOL that block conventional email connections with external mail servers.

Please do not call or e-mail Grant Wood AEA directly with questions or problems about the e-mail services.  All questions and problem reports should be routed through the e-mail administrator for your school.  A list of e-mail administrators is below.  Thanks for your cooperation.

E-Mail Administrators by Site

 

Alburnett – Jill Roloff jroloff@alburnett.k12.ia.us
Anamosa – Mary Bendixen mbendixen@anamosa.k12.ia.us

Anamosa – Roy Carter rcarter@anamosa.k12.ia.us
St. Patrick Anamosa – Bob Furino bfurino@aea10..k12.ia.us
Benton - Tyler Maschino tmaschino@benton.k12.ia.us
Cedar Rapids Area Catholic

  Metro Office - Jean Brady jbrady@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us
  Xavier – Jason Marshall jmarshall@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us
  St. Jude - Dottie Gierut dgierut@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us 
  St. Ludmila - Dottie Gierut dgierut@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us
  Lasalle - Dottie Gierut dgierut@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us
  St. Matthew - Joe Wolf jwolf@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us
  All Saints - Fran Krzywicki fkrzywicki@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us
  St. Joseph - Mike Hayek mhayek@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us 
  St. Pius - Kay Sullivan ksullivan@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us
  Regis - Deb Marlin dmarlin@cr-cath.pvt.k12.ia.us
Center Point - Urbana - Leandra Sunseri lsunseri@cen-pt-urb.k12.ia.us
Central City – Joyce Brown jbrown@central-city.k12.ia.us

Central Lutheran - Mark L'Heureux mlheureux@cent-luth.pvt.k12.ia.us
Clear Creek Amana - Joe Francis jfrancis@cc-amana.k12.ia.us
Deep River Millersburg – Susan Schaefer  sschaefer@dr-millersburg.k12.ia.us
English Valleys - Avery Montz amontz@english-valleys.k12.ia.us

English Valleys – Marty Mikesell mmikesell@english-valleys.k12.ia.us
Grant Wood AEA – Technology Office – dial extension 6738
Highland - Charlotte Lindmeier clindmeier@highland.k12.ia.us

Highland – Ken Kucera kkucera@highland.k12.ia.us

HLV – Bill Lynch blynch@hlv.k12.ia.us
Iowa Braille – Sam Zubak szubak@iowa-braille.k12.ia.us
Iowa Mennonite - Dick Yoder-Short dyoder-short@iamenno.pvt.k12.ia.us

Iowa Mennonite – John Gingerich jgingerich@iamenno.pvt.k12.ia.us
Iowa City Regina – Joan Belknap jbelknap@regina.pvt.k12.ia.us

Iowa City ReginaHanh Nguyen hnguyen@regina.pvt.k12.ia.us
Linn-Mar - Dawn Cooksley dcooksley@linnmar.k12.ia.us

Linn-Mar – Gary Warner gwarner@linnmar.k12.ia.us
Lone Tree - Cynthia Pattison cpattison@lone-tree.k12.ia.us
Monticello Sacred Heart – Carrie Manternach cmanternach@sac-ht-mont.pvt.k12.ia.us

Mt. Vernon – Russ Bush rbush@mountvernon.k12.ia.us

North Cedar – Shawn Driscoll sdriscoll@north-cedar.k12.ia.us
North Cedar - Jane Koch jkoch@north-cedar.k12.ia.us

North Linn – David Lasley dlasley@northlinn.k12.ia.us
Springville – Treva Davis tdavis@springville.k12.ia.us
Summit – Tim Virden tvirden@summit.pvt.k12.ia.us
Vinton Shellsburg – Mark Hancock mhancock@vinton-shellsburg.k12.ia.us

Willliamsburg – Kelly Nelson knelson@williamsburg.k12.ia.us

New Web Messaging Interface 

If you have a popup blocker enabled on your web browser, turn it off for your web messaging site.  Many of the web mail functions including online help and message composition will not work if your popup blocker is on.

Web mail users will find a completely redesigned user interface that looks very similar to Outlook and other e-mail client software packages. The first thing you will notice is that the web mail URL has changed, so please change your saved bookmarks and favorites.  The new URL is simply your e-mail domain (the part of your address after the “@”).  For example if you are from Benton Community, your web mail URL is http://benton.k12.ia.us.  You can find a list of links to all the e-mail domains on our web directory at http://www.gwaea.org/aeaemail. Your web mail user ID and password have not changed.

Once you are logged in, you can access the Web Messaging Users Guide by clicking on the “Help” link in the upper right corner of the window.  There you will find answers to most of your questions about using the web mail system.

The first time you log on, you should click on the Preferences link at the bottom of the left pane.  Double check the settings to make sure they set the way you want them.   You might want to change the preference under General User Settings to “Open Compose In New Window”.  Most users seem to prefer this over the default value of “Same Window”.

The best way to learn about the new web messaging interface is to just start using it.  If you run into questions or problems, the e-mail administrator for your school or district should be able to help.

Spam Filtering.

We have set our Barracuda to filter spam as well as an Imail filter by Commtouch. Spam will be directed to your SPAM folder in webmail.

How to find a missing message.

One problem with spam filters is “false positives”; legitimate messages identified as junk mail.Identified junk messages will be stored in a SPAM folder in your web mail account.  These messages will be held for 7 days, then automatically deleted.  If you are missing an expected message, you can log on to your web mail and search for it in the SPAM folder.  If you find the message, simply move it to your web mail Inbox, and it will be delivered normally the next time you check mail.

Note that identified junk mail is not delivered to your Outlook or other client based e-mail Inbox unless you explicitly move a message to the web mail Inbox.  Otherwise it is held in your web mail SPAM folder until it is deleted.  If you wish, you may delete the messages in the SPAM folder before the 7 day automatic deletion.

How to report a junk message that gets through to your Inbox.

The effectiveness of the spam filter is dependent on frequent updating of the bullet signatures based on user reporting of junk messages they receive.  You are encouraged to actively participate in this reporting by sending copies of junk mail messages you receive to the filtering company.  Below are the general guidelines you should follow in reporting spam.

1)                  Don’t report a message unless you are sure it is spam.  Just because you receive a message you don’t want, it isn’t necessarily spam.  Use good judgment.

2)                  Don’t report messages that are in your web mail SPAM folder or have a subject prefix of [F].  These messages have already been caught by the filter.

3)                  Only report new spam that you received in the last couple of hours.  If the message is older than that, chances are that it has already been reported by another customer.

4)                  Send the message as an attachment to reportfn@blockspam.biz .  Iwith the following subject line: [FN Report][Messaging Architects][Date]
NOTE: Only the Date block should be modified.
Ex: [FN Report][Ipswitch][mm/dd/yyyy]

How to report a false positive.

1)                  Submissions must contain the Commtouch RefID from the header of the message. You can forward the original message as an attachment(RefID header line included) or retrieve the RefID and put it in the body of your submission. It is ok to send more than one RefID per message. Here is an example of the header line:X-CTCH-RefID: str=0001.0A010208.492285A9.0064,ss=4,pt=62280,fgs=12

2)                  Send the message to reportfp@blockspam.biz with the following subject line: [FP Report][Ipswitch][Date] NOTE: Only the Date block should be modified. Ex: [FP Report][Ipswitch][mm/dd/yyyy]

Note: This process is only intended for messages that were improperly flagged by Commtouch Premium Antispam. If the message was flagged by other IMail spam filters you must manually adjust the filter to prevent further false positives.

Address book white listing not available.

A nice feature we had to give up with the new spam filter is the ability to “white list” addresses by putting them in your web mail address book.  If you run into problems with legitimate messages being caught by the filter, your only choice is to report the false positive to Ipswitch as described above. 

How to set up your home computer or laptop.

 

Most email providers (including Grant Wood AEA) block the relay of e-mail originating from unknown networks and IP addresses.  Additionally, many ISP’s such as AOL prevent conventional SMTP (Simple Mail Transport Protocol) connections between their customers and external mail servers.  If you set up your home computer or laptop with your work e-mail account, this problem will show up as an ability to receive messages, but not send messages.

 

Ipswitch Imail Server has a work around for this problem that will work with most ISP’s.  It involves setting up your e-mail software to require SMTP authentication and to use an alternate SMTP port.  While this sounds daunting, it just involves changing a couple of settings in your e-mail software setup.  If you have a laptop that you use at multiple locations, you should set it up this way.  These settings will work equally well whether you are connected to your school network or are using your laptop at home or on the road.

 

Instructions are given below for configuring Microsoft Outlook 2003 and Outlook Express 6.  These instructions can be adapted to current versions of most e-mail client software packages.  (Note:  If you have successfully set this up for another software package please write up a list of instructions. E-mail them to Mike Hauer so they can be added to this document to help other users.)

 

Outlook 2003.

 

1)                  If you already have your e-mail account configured in Outlook, skip to step 7.

2)                  On the Outlook Tools menu, select “E-mail Accounts”.

3)                  Select “Add a new E-mail Account” and click Next.

4)                  Select “Pop3” and click Next.

5)                  Fill in the information on the E-Mail Settings window.  For Incoming and Outgoing mail servers, enter your mail domain name (the part of your e-mail address following the @).  Do not check the box for secure password.  Click Next.

6)                  Click Finish.

7)                  On the Outlook Tools menu, select “E-mail Accounts”.

8)                  Select “View or change an existing account” and click Next.

9)                  Select your account from the list and click Change.

10)              Click “More Settings”, then click the “Outgoing Server” tab.

11)              Put a check in the box for “My server requires authentication” and “Use the same settings as my incoming server”. 

12)              Click the Advanced tab.  For “Outgoing Server (SMTP)” change the value from 25 to 587.  Click OK

13)              Click Next.  Click Finish.

 

Outlook Express 6.

 

1)                  If you already have your e-mail account configured in Outlook Express, skip to step 9.

2)                  On the Outlook Express Tools menu, select “Accounts”.

3)                  Click “Add” and select “Mail”.

4)                  Enter your name and click Next.

5)                  Enter your e-mail address and click Next.

6)                  Select POP3 for Incoming mail server type.  For Incoming and Outgoing mail servers, enter your mail domain name (the part of your e-mail address following the @).  Do not check the box for secure password.  Click Next.

7)                  For account name, enter your e-mail ID (the part of your address preceding the @).  Enter your password.  Do not select the check box for Secure Password Authentication.  Click Next.

8)                  Click Finish. Click Close.

9)                  On the Outlook Express Tools menu, select “Accounts”.

10)              Select your account from the list and click Properties.

11)              Click on the Servers tab.  Put a check in the box for “My server requires authentication”.

12)              Click the Advanced tab.  For “Outgoing Server (SMTP)” change the value from 25 to 587.  Click Apply.  Click OK.

13)              Click Close.